Nwodo, Senator Eze, Others For Launch Of amu nnadi’s New Book


Nwodo, Senator Eze, Others For Launch Of amu nnadi’s New Book

Former President-General of Ohaneze Ndigbo and two-time former minister, Chief John Nwodo and Senator Ayogu Eze, former senator representing Enugu North Senatorial District, are some prominent members of the Advisory and Planning Committees for the public presentation of “the love canticles”, a new book by prolific Nigerian poet, amu nnadi.

The list, unveiled in Port Harcourt, Rivers State, also named Mr. Davies Okarevu, the Director, Planning, Research and Statistics of the Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC), as Chairman of the committee.

Also on the list are Honourable Chijioke Edeoga, Commissioner of Environment, Enugu State and former member of House of Representatives, Barrister George Ero, Director, Rivers State Office, Dr. Prince Alazigha, Director, Community and Rural Development, Barrister Stephen Ighomuaye, Director, Legal Services, Eno Ubi Otu, Director, Finance and Accounts, and Engr. Emeka Ani, Director, Office of Interim Administrator/CEO of the NDDC.


Mr. James Eze, Chief Press Secretary to the Governor of Anambra State, Chief Willie Obiano, and winner of the 2020 ANA Poetry Prize for the book, “dispossessed”, and Samson Fiberesima, the General Manager of Radio Rivers, were also named.

This is the seventh book of the multiple award-winning poet, whose 2013 anthology, “through the window of a sandcastle”, won the 2013 ANA Poetry Prize, the 2014 inaugural Glenna Luschei African Poetry Book Prize and was the runner-up to the 2013 Nigeria LNG Prize for Literature.

Described by poet and literary critic, Michael Chiedoziem Chukwudera, as an “alchemical phenomenon”, “the love canticles” is a book of 100 romantic poems.

According to a press statement by Edwina Aleme, a member of the Planning Committee, the public presentation, scheduled to hold in the last week of June in Port Harcourt, will also witness the unveiling of an album of songs created from amu nnadi’s poetry, “amu nnadi: everything beautiful.

“This is going to be the first of its kind in Nigerian poetry and promises to be day of astounding art,” Aleme stated, adding: “Chief John Nnia Nwodo will present a speech at the event, while the review of “the love canticles” will be presented by James Eze.

The full list of the Planning and Advisory Committees are: Davies Okarevu (Director, Planning, Research and Statistics, NDDC), chairman; Emeka Ani (Director, Office of IA/CEO, NDDC), member; Steve Ighomuaye (Director, Legal Services), member;

Eno Ubi Otu (Director, Finance and Accounts, NDDC), member; Hon. Chijioke Edeoga (Commissioner for Environment, Enugu State), member; James Eze (Chief Press Secretary, Anambra State Government and Winner, ANA Poetry Prize 2020), member;

Sampson Fiberesima (General Manager, Radio Rivers and Captain, Book Section, Port Harcourt Club 1928); Oby Ndukwe (CEO, Citizens Quest TV); Tammy Allaboh;

Pamela Scott (Producer, *amu nnadi: everything beautiful*); Clara Braide (Directorate of Skills Development and Empowerment, NDDC) and Edwina Aleme (Port Harcourt Literary Society).

Advisers and Chief John Nnia Nwodo (Former President-General, Ohanaeze Ndigbo); Senator Ayogu Eze (Former Senator representing Enugu North Senatorial Zone); Pastor George Ero (Director, Rivers State Office, NDDC); Dr. Prince Alazigha (Director, Community and Rural Development, NDDC).